Option 3 – Pay and Attend Traffic School
Frequently asked questions regarding the election of the Driving School Option
Am I eligible to elect traffic school for my citation?
A Florida Licensed Driver, under Florida Statute 318.14(9), may only elect traffic school on a citation once in twelve months (consecutive not yearly) and five times in a lifetime. CDL or Commercial Learner’s Permit holders are not eligible to elect traffic school per Florida Statute 318.14(9). CDL or Commercial Learner’s Permit holders must seek assistance from the courts to avoid the points. If you are licensed in another state you must check with your local DMV to determine if this election and completion of a Traffic School in Florida will keep the points off your record. To verify eligibility you may visit the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles website. https://services.flhsmv.gov/DLCheck/
How do I proceed with the election of traffic school for my citation?
To elect Traffic School, you must complete the Option Form and submit the form to our office with payment prior to your compliance date. Once the election and fine is paid you will be given 60 days to complete the course and submit the completion certificate to the Clerk’s office. You may also elect Traffic School through the online payment process, http://www.stjohncopmts.com/.
NOTE: Some violations receive a reduction in the fine when the School Election Option is applied. Please review the following amounts to determine if a reduction will apply to the fine noted on your citation:
|SPEEDING FINE||School Election – New Fine:|
|6-9 miles over------------$131.00||6-9 miles over------------$128.75|
|10-14 miles over---------$206.00||10-14 miles over---------$197.00|
|15-19 miles over---------$256.00||15-19 miles over---------$242.50|
|20-29 miles over---------$281.00||20-29 miles over---------$265.25|
|SPEEDING FINE IN A SCHOOL/CONSTRUCTION ZONE||School Election – New Fine:|
|1-9 miles over------------$156.00||1-9 miles over------------$151.50|
|10-14 miles over---------$306.00||10-14 miles over---------$288.00|
|15-19 miles over---------$406.00||15-19 miles over---------$379.00|
|20-29 miles over---------$456.00||20-29 miles over---------$424.50|
MOVING VIOLATIONS OTHER THAN SPEEDING---(ch.316)-------$166.00-----New Fine: $160.60
MOVING VIOLATIONS OTHER THAN SPEEDING---(ch.322)-------$160.00-----New Fine: $154.60
How do I enroll and complete the traffic school?
You may attend the school anywhere in the State of Florida.
- Physically attend a class: Search the Yellow Pages for Driving Instruction or Traffic School.
- Attend Online: You may enter a search for Florida Online Traffic Schools or visit http://www.flhsmv.gov/ for a listing of providers.
- Enroll in a 4-hour BDI School. (Basic Driver Improvement)
Only Florida approved courses are accepted, Traffic Schools completed in another state will not be accepted on a Florida Citation. The school provider you choose will charge a fee upon registration for the class.
I’ve completed the traffic course, what do I do now?
You must submit your completion certificate to the Clerk’s Office by your compliance date. The completion certificate may be filed in person, mail, fax or email. Failure to submit a completion certificate by your compliance date shall result in additional fees, license suspension and the points assessed to your driver’s license. It is not recommended to rely on the school to submit your completion. If you allow the school provider to remit your school completion certificate, please contact our office to verify receipt of the document.